Stream Jessie Ware’s New Album ‘Tough Love’


(James Moriarty for Interscope Records)

By Annie Reuter

Jessie Ware will release the followup to her 2012 debut album Devotion next week.

In celebration of her new record Tough Love, out Oct. 21, NPR is currently streaming the album in its entirety beginning today (Oct. 15).

The 11-track release was co-written by Ware herself alongside a bevy of familiar writers and producers like Benny Blanco, Miguel, Ed Sheeran and Dev Hynes. The album was produced by BenZel, the production duo Benny Blanco and Two Inch Punch.

In an interview with the 405, Ware opened up about her sophomore release, which the majority of was written while on the road.

“I’m quite an impatient person, to be honest, so I really needed to write on the road; I definitely didn’t like the idea of having to wait until I could set aside a certain block of time to work on another album,” she told the publication. “Plus, you know, it really broke up the monotony of touring, and because I was doing things so far in advance, there was no real pressure; it was a really nice way to begin the process, I think. I didn’t know that I’d end up using these songs for anything, but writing was just a way of helping me get through all these long flights and drives, and the fact that I was doing the same thing every night.”

She added that she spent months on each song before she was ready for anyone to hear the tracks.

“I’ve been pretty perfectionist about it, really,” she said. “We’ve had the songs ready for about three months now, but I wanted to make sure that everything made sense; the timing of putting it out, the artwork, the mixing, the tracklisting…I wanted to be totally happy with every aspect of the record. And I am, now. I really am.”

Stream Tough Love on NPR.

Jessie Ware’s Tough Love tracklist

1. “Tough Love” written by Jessie Ware, Benny Blanco, Ben Ash
2. “You & I (Forever)” written by Ware, Blanco, Ash, Miguel Pimentel
3. “Cruel” written by Ware, James Ford, Dave Okumu
4. “Say You Love Me” written by Ware, Blanco, Ash, Ed Sheeran
5. “Sweetest Song” written by Ware, Okumu, Sam Dew
6. “Kind Of…Sometimes…Maybe” written by Ware, Blanco, Ash, Pimentel
7. “Want Your Feeling” written by Ware, Dev Hynes
8. “Pieces” written by Ware, Jimmy Napier, William Phillips
9. “Keep On Lying” written by Ware, Dew, Matthew Walker
10. “Champagne Kisses” written by Ware, Blanco, Ash
11. “Desire” written by Ware, Paul Jefferies, Tom Hull, Daniel Daley, Mitchum Chin

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s