Consequence of Sound

On January 20th, Belle and Sebastian return with their ninth studio album, Girls in Peacetime Want To Dance, through Matador Records. Already we’ve heard the groovy, island-hopping lead single “The Party Line”; now comes the LP’s opening track “Nobody’s Empire”.

A tender indie pop number, it’s laced with charming guitars and equally poetic lyricism (“We are out of practise we’re out of sight/ On the edge of nobody’s empire / If we live by books and we live by hope / Does that make us targets for gunfire?”). According to a press release, frontman Stuart Murdoch calls it “absolutely the most personal song” he’s ever written.

Below, check out “Nobody’s Empire” via its corresponding music video directed by Blair Young and Murdoch himself.

Girls In Peacetime Want To Dance Tracklist:
01. Nobody’s Empire
02. Allie
03. The Party Line
04. The Power of Three
05. The Cat with the Cream
06. Enter Sylvia…

View original post 29 more words


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s